TOWN OF BEDFORD ENERGY COMMISSION MEETING

October 25, 2018 BCTV MEETING ROOM 10 MEETINGHOUSE ROAD

- I. Call to Order 7:00 PM
- II. Quorum Count (5)
- III. Approval of Minutes
 - a. May 24, June
- IV. Reports of Members and Committees
 - a. Legislative update Chris
 - b. School projects Bill
- V. Special Orders
 - a. Don Willet and/or Chris Welcome to discuss leasing the town landfill for solar electricity generation
- VI. Old Business
 - a. Green Resident Award Shana
 - 1. Update on nomination form
 - b. Green Business Award Lex
 - c. Lex social media promotion update Shana, Lex
 - 1. Logo update
 - d. Tour of recycling and incineration facilities John
 - e. Landfill Solar Jeff
 - 1. Is leasing the landfill an option?
 - 2. Location of 3 phase power and plans to extend to transfer station
 - 3. Updated PPA financing
 - f. Button up NH
 - 1. Last done 7 years ago
 - g. New Solar Up campaign Shana
 - 1. Shana sent survey to Chris
 - 2. Was the survey sent out?
 - h. Transfer station -
 - 1. Mandatory glass separation in effect
 - A. Lex and Catherine article after tour
 - i. Glass removed from recycling and waste streamBedford 2020 Master Plan update
 - A. 10/26 art contest

- B. Next up is the Pan-a-palooza 11/1-11/5
 - a. <u>www.blueprintbedford.com</u> is not secure
- j. Master Plan
 - 1. Town netzero by 2030?
 - A. Or some other achievable goal
 - 2. Electrical grid modernization
 - 3. Town zero waste by 2030?
 - A. Or some other achievable goal (35%?)
- k. Glass bottle deposit state law?
 - 1. Moves cost from town to businesses
 - 2. Encourages reuse of glass or use of other materials
 - 3. Would apply to glass other than bottled drinks?
- 1. Electrical grid modernization
 - 1. Smart meters
 - 2. Higher capacity transformers to support electric car charging
 - 3. Increased integration of renewables
- m. Eversource bills to calculate demand charges (need 2 volunteers)
 - 1. Bing volunteered
- n. Commission Roles
- VII. New business
- VIII. Reminders: Next upcoming meeting is November 29
- IX. Adjournment

Jeff Kerr (Chair) - 2020

Andrew Gillis (Vice Chair) - 2019

Shana Potvin (Past Chair) - 2019

Chris Bandazian (Town Council Liaison) - 2018

Catherine Rombeau (Town Council Liaison Alternate) - 2018

Bill Foote - 2018

John Russell - 2018

Kevin Flynn - 2018

Alexander Joy - 2020

Bing Liu - 2021

Bill Coder - 2019